ETH Zurich at DiFe20!

AI for Sustainability


How can Artificial Intelligence be used to improve food security in Africa or to fight deforestation in the Amazonas? How can we use cutting-​edge technologies to create inclusive and sustainable development that leaves no one behind? How do we ensure that good intentions won't backfire?

ETH Zurich researchers and partners discuss how they use AI for global sustainable development and where they see the future of AI and its opportunities for social and environmental good. They will present examples of how AI can contribute to sustainable development from Brazil, Ghana to Kenya.

In the second part of the event, participants will have a chance to develop their own ideas on how they can use their technical and analytical skills to address global challenges and discuss their ideas with the speakers and other experts. You will walk away with insights about the present and future of AI for sustainability and with ideas and inspirations to use the opportunities and skills you have to contribute to a sustainable and inclusive future.


Friday, 18.09.2020, 14:30-17:00, aperitif after the event
Event Location: Schiffbau
Moderator: Chris Luebkeman
Event Language: EN

Speakers

  • Charity Wayua

    Head IBM Research Public Sector Kenya, IBM Research Africa

    Dr. Charity Wayua is a senior research manager at IBM research Africa, an organization whose mission is to develop innovative and commercially viable technologies that impact people’s lives. In her role today, she spends her time developing her team's research strategy and driving execution in the team's areas of focus: applications of cloud and artificial intelligence technologies in healthcare, climate and agriculture. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Xavier University, (Ohio, US) and a PhD in Chemistry at Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, US) where her research was focused on developing targeted therapeutics and imaging agents for lung, pancreatic and…

    Dr. Charity Wayua is a senior research manager at IBM research Africa, an organization whose mission is to develop innovative and commercially viable technologies that impact people’s lives. In her role today, she spends her time developing her team's research strategy and driving execution in the team's areas of focus: applications of cloud and artificial intelligence technologies in healthcare, climate and agriculture. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Xavier University, (Ohio, US) and a PhD in Chemistry at Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, US) where her research was focused on developing targeted therapeutics and imaging agents for lung, pancreatic and colon cancers.

  • Moustapha Cisse

    Head Google AI Ghana, Member ETH4D Advisory Board, Co-​Founder AIMS

    Moustapha Cisse is a research scientist at Google and head of the Google AI center in Accra, Ghana, where he leads research efforts in foundational machine learning and its applications to solving complex societal challenges. Moustapha is also a professor of machine learning at the African Institute of Mathematical Sciences, where where he is the founder and director of the African Master’s of Machine Intelligence program. He was previously a research scientist at Facebook AI Research. Before that, he completed his PhD at University Pierre and Marie Curie in France.

    Moustapha Cisse is a research scientist at Google and head of the Google AI center in Accra, Ghana, where he leads research efforts in foundational machine learning and its applications to solving complex societal challenges. Moustapha is also a professor of machine learning at the African Institute of Mathematical Sciences, where where he is the founder and director of the African Master’s of Machine Intelligence program. He was previously a research scientist at Facebook AI Research. Before that, he completed his PhD at University Pierre and Marie Curie in France.

  • Jan Dirk Wegner

    Head EcoVision Lab, ETH Zurich

    Jan Dirk Wegner is founder and head of the EcoVision Lab, which does research at the frontier of machine learning and computer vision to solve ecological questions. Its objective is to invent original, data-​driven methods at the interface of computer science, ecology, and engineering that analyse environmental data at very large scale automatically. Jan joined the Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing group at ETH in 2012 after completing his PhD (with distinction) at Leibniz Universität Hannover in 2011.
    He has published more than 50 peer-​reviewed papers and established new lines of research in geospatial computer vision and deep machine learning and…

    Jan Dirk Wegner is founder and head of the EcoVision Lab, which does research at the frontier of machine learning and computer vision to solve ecological questions. Its objective is to invent original, data-​driven methods at the interface of computer science, ecology, and engineering that analyse environmental data at very large scale automatically. Jan joined the Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing group at ETH in 2012 after completing his PhD (with distinction) at Leibniz Universität Hannover in 2011.
    He has published more than 50 peer-​reviewed papers and established new lines of research in geospatial computer vision and deep machine learning and was granted multiple awards.

  • Massimo Selmo

    Head of Global Sourcing Barry Callebaut

    Massimo Selmo started to work for Barry Callebaut Italia as CFO in 1996 at the Milan offices. In 1999 he moved to Switzerland to lead the centralization of Sourcing as Head of Global Sourcing. As of 2016 he is a member of the Board of Directors of Masschallenge, a global start-up accelerator sponsored by Barry Callebaut. Massimo Selmo graduated in 1992 at the “Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi” in Milan and holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration.

    Massimo Selmo started to work for Barry Callebaut Italia as CFO in 1996 at the Milan offices. In 1999 he moved to Switzerland to lead the centralization of Sourcing as Head of Global Sourcing. As of 2016 he is a member of the Board of Directors of Masschallenge, a global start-up accelerator sponsored by Barry Callebaut. Massimo Selmo graduated in 1992 at the “Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi” in Milan and holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration.

  • Chris Luebkeman

    Head Strategic Foresight Hub, President Office ETH Zurich

    Chris Luebkeman is the leader of the Strategic Foresight Hub in the Office of the President at ETH Zurich. He and his team engage a broad range of stakeholders concerning future-focused drivers of change. He combines an attitude of pragmatic optimism with curiosity and a deep sense of planetary responsibility to all of his collaborations. Dr. Luebkeman’s career has spanned professions and geographies. His multidisciplinary education (geology, civil engineering, structural engineering, entrepreneurship, and a Doctorate in Architecture) was encouraged by his Mid-​Western family of educators. His journey included Vanderbilt, Cornell, and the ETH Zurich. He became an academic nomad teaching…

    Chris Luebkeman is the leader of the Strategic Foresight Hub in the Office of the President at ETH Zurich. He and his team engage a broad range of stakeholders concerning future-focused drivers of change. He combines an attitude of pragmatic optimism with curiosity and a deep sense of planetary responsibility to all of his collaborations. Dr. Luebkeman’s career has spanned professions and geographies. His multidisciplinary education (geology, civil engineering, structural engineering, entrepreneurship, and a Doctorate in Architecture) was encouraged by his Mid-​Western family of educators. His journey included Vanderbilt, Cornell, and the ETH Zurich. He became an academic nomad teaching Studios on Design and courses on Technology at the University of Oregon, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and at MIT. He joined a global engineering consultancy Arup in London to lead the Research and Development group in 1999. He became a corporate intrapreneur by founding the Foresight, Innovation and Incubation teams. He is deeply passionate about constructive dialogue and positive solutions to the profound challenges we face today.

ETH Zürich am DiFe20!

AI for Sustainability


Wie kann Künstliche Intelligenz zur Verbesserung der Ernährungssicherheit in Afrika oder zur Bekämpfung der Entwaldung im Amazonasgebiet eingesetzt werden? Wie können wir Spitzentechnologien nutzen, um eine integrative und nachhaltige Entwicklung zu schaffen, die niemanden zurücklässt? Wie können wir sicherstellen, dass gute Absichten nicht nach hinten losgehen?*

Forschende und Partner der ETH Zürich diskutieren, wie sie KI für eine globale nachhaltige Entwicklung nutzen und wo sie die Zukunft der KI und ihre Chancen für soziale und ökologische Güter sehen. Sie präsentieren Beispiele, wie KI zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen kann, von Brasilien über Ghana bis Kenia.

Im zweiten Teil der Veranstaltung haben die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, ihre eigenen Ideen zu entwickeln, wie sie ihre technischen und analytischen Fähigkeiten zur Bewältigung globaler Herausforderungen einsetzen können, und ihre Ideen mit den Referentinnen und Referenten und anderen Fachpersonen zu diskutieren. Gewinne Einblicken in die Gegenwart und Zukunft der KI für Nachhaltigkeit und sammle Ideen und Inspirationen zur Nutzung der Möglichkeiten und Fähigkeiten, die du hast, um zu einer nachhaltigen und integrativen Zukunft beizutragen.


Freitag, 18.09.2020, 14:30-17:00 Uhr, Apéro im Anschluss
Event Location: Schiffbau
Moderator: Chris Luebkeman
Event Sprache: EN

Speakers

  • Charity Wayua

    Head IBM Research Public Sector Kenya, IBM Research Africa

    Charity ist ein leite Forschungsleiter bei IBM Research Africa, einer Organisation, deren Aufgabe es ist, innovative und kommerziell nutzbare Technologien zu entwickeln, die das Leben der Menschen verändern. In ihrer heutigen Funktion entwickelt sie Forschungsstrategie für ihr Team und treibt die Umsetzung deren Schwerpunktbereiche voran: Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Cloud-Technologien und Künstlicher Intelligenz in den Bereichen Gesundheitswesen, Klima und Landwirtschaft.

    Sie erwarb ihren Bachelor-Abschluss an der Xavier University (Ohio, USA) und promovierte in Chemie an der Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, USA), wo sich ihre Forschung auf die Entwicklung gezielter Therapeutika und Bildgebungsmittel für Lungen-, Bauchspeicheldrüsen- und Darmkrebs konzentrierte.

    Charity ist ein leite Forschungsleiter bei IBM Research Africa, einer Organisation, deren Aufgabe es ist, innovative und kommerziell nutzbare Technologien zu entwickeln, die das Leben der Menschen verändern. In ihrer heutigen Funktion entwickelt sie Forschungsstrategie für ihr Team und treibt die Umsetzung deren Schwerpunktbereiche voran: Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Cloud-Technologien und Künstlicher Intelligenz in den Bereichen Gesundheitswesen, Klima und Landwirtschaft.

    Sie erwarb ihren Bachelor-Abschluss an der Xavier University (Ohio, USA) und promovierte in Chemie an der Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, USA), wo sich ihre Forschung auf die Entwicklung gezielter Therapeutika und Bildgebungsmittel für Lungen-, Bauchspeicheldrüsen- und Darmkrebs konzentrierte.

  • Moustapha Cisse

    Leiter Google AI Ghana, Member ETH4D Advisory Board, Co-​Founder AIMS

    Moustapha Cisse ist Forscher bei Google und Leiter des Google AI Centers in Accra, Ghana, wo er Grundlagenforschung zu Maschinellem Lernen und dessen Anwendungen zur Lösung komplexer gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen leitet. Moustapha Cisse ist Professor für Maschinelles Lernen am African Institute of Mathematical Sciences, und Gründer und Direktor des African Master's of Machine Intelligence-Programms. Zuvor war er als Forschungswissenschaftler bei Facebook AI Research tätig. Davor promovierte er an der Universität Pierre und Marie Curie in Frankreich.

    Moustapha Cisse ist Forscher bei Google und Leiter des Google AI Centers in Accra, Ghana, wo er Grundlagenforschung zu Maschinellem Lernen und dessen Anwendungen zur Lösung komplexer gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen leitet. Moustapha Cisse ist Professor für Maschinelles Lernen am African Institute of Mathematical Sciences, und Gründer und Direktor des African Master's of Machine Intelligence-Programms. Zuvor war er als Forschungswissenschaftler bei Facebook AI Research tätig. Davor promovierte er an der Universität Pierre und Marie Curie in Frankreich.

  • Jan Dirk Wegner

    Leiter EcoVision Lab, ETH Zürich

    Jan Dirk Wegner ist Gründer und Leiter des EcoVision Lab, das an den Grenzen des maschinellen Lernens und Computer Vision forscht, um ökologische Fragen zu lösen. Sein Ziel ist die Entwicklung origineller, datengesteuerter Methoden an der Schnittstelle von Informatik, Ökologie und Ingenieurwissenschaften, die Umweltdaten in sehr grossem Massstab automatisch analysieren. Jan trat 2012 in die Gruppe Photogrammetrie und Fernerkundung an der ETH bei, nachdem er 2011 sein Doktorat mit Auszeichnung an der Leibniz Universität Hannover abgeschlossen hatte.
    Er publizierte mehr als 50 peer-reviewed papers und etablierte neue Forschungslinien in den Bereichen Geospatial Computer Vision und Deep Machine Learning und wurde…

    Jan Dirk Wegner ist Gründer und Leiter des EcoVision Lab, das an den Grenzen des maschinellen Lernens und Computer Vision forscht, um ökologische Fragen zu lösen. Sein Ziel ist die Entwicklung origineller, datengesteuerter Methoden an der Schnittstelle von Informatik, Ökologie und Ingenieurwissenschaften, die Umweltdaten in sehr grossem Massstab automatisch analysieren. Jan trat 2012 in die Gruppe Photogrammetrie und Fernerkundung an der ETH bei, nachdem er 2011 sein Doktorat mit Auszeichnung an der Leibniz Universität Hannover abgeschlossen hatte.
    Er publizierte mehr als 50 peer-reviewed papers und etablierte neue Forschungslinien in den Bereichen Geospatial Computer Vision und Deep Machine Learning und wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

  • Massimo Selmo

    Head of Global Sourcing Barry Callebaut

    Massimo Selmo begann 1996 als CFO in den Mailänder Büros von Barry Callebaut Italia. 1999 zog er in die Schweiz, um als Leiter Global Sourcing die Zentralisierung der Beschaffung zu leiten. Seit 2016 ist er Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates von Masschallenge, einem von Barry Callebaut gesponserten globalen Start-up Accelerator. Massimo Selmo schloss 1992 sein Studium an der Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi in Mailand ab und besitzt einen Master-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft.

    Massimo Selmo begann 1996 als CFO in den Mailänder Büros von Barry Callebaut Italia. 1999 zog er in die Schweiz, um als Leiter Global Sourcing die Zentralisierung der Beschaffung zu leiten. Seit 2016 ist er Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates von Masschallenge, einem von Barry Callebaut gesponserten globalen Start-up Accelerator. Massimo Selmo schloss 1992 sein Studium an der Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi in Mailand ab und besitzt einen Master-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft.

  • Chris Luebkeman

    Leiter Strategic Foresight Hub, Stab Präsident ETH Zürich

    Chris Luebkeman ist Leiter des Strategic Foresight Hub im Stab des Präsidenten der ETH Zürich. Er und sein Team beziehen ein breites Spektrum an Interessensgruppen in zukunftsgerichtete Veränderungsprozesse mit ein. Er vereint pragmatischen Optimismus mit Neugier und einem tiefen Bewusstsein für die globale Verantwortung in all seinen Kooperationen. Dr. Luebkemans Karriere umfasst zahlreiche Berufe und Geografien. Seine multidisziplinäre Ausbildung in Geologie, Civi and Structural Engineering, Unternehmertum und ein Doktorat in Architektur wurde von seiner Familie von Pädagogen aus dem Mittelwesten unterstützt. Zu seinen Stationen zählen Vanderbilt, Cornell und die ETH Zürich. Er wurde zum akademischen Nomaden, der an der University…

    Chris Luebkeman ist Leiter des Strategic Foresight Hub im Stab des Präsidenten der ETH Zürich. Er und sein Team beziehen ein breites Spektrum an Interessensgruppen in zukunftsgerichtete Veränderungsprozesse mit ein. Er vereint pragmatischen Optimismus mit Neugier und einem tiefen Bewusstsein für die globale Verantwortung in all seinen Kooperationen. Dr. Luebkemans Karriere umfasst zahlreiche Berufe und Geografien. Seine multidisziplinäre Ausbildung in Geologie, Civi and Structural Engineering, Unternehmertum und ein Doktorat in Architektur wurde von seiner Familie von Pädagogen aus dem Mittelwesten unterstützt. Zu seinen Stationen zählen Vanderbilt, Cornell und die ETH Zürich. Er wurde zum akademischen Nomaden, der an der University of Oregon, der Universität von Hongkong und am MIT Design-Studios und Technologie unterrichtete. 1999 trat er einem globalen Ingenieurbüro Arup in London bei, um die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsgruppe zu leiten. Mit der Gründung der Foresight-, Innovations- und Inkubationsteams wurde er zum Corporate Intrapreneur. Seine große Leidenschaft gilt dem konstruktiven Dialog und positiven Lösungen für die tiefgreifenden Herausforderungen, denen wir heute gegenüberstehen.